sewing · wardrobe

Tessuti New York Cape

It is with a little bit of embarrassment that I show my next make. Firstly because I have been making derogatory comments about cape wearers since last winter; secondly and more importantly because it’s a shameless copy of Leith’s. I was half way won over by the Tessuti cape, but it was hers that pushed me over the line.

The fabric was from The Fabric Store in Surry Hills and my five year old accomplice insisted I buy the blue print, rather than the other runner up which was black. The buttons were from Spotlight, and the wool binding was from Tessuti.

It was simple to make, but time consuming. My sewing machine was very unhappy with the buttonholes, and has since sadly gone in for repairs. I bound all the seams as the instructions suggest. It got its first wear out on Saturday to the Southern Highlands for breakfast in Berrima, followed by my nephews birthday party.

I churned out a Renfrew to match it, out of some stretch I bought from Pitt Trading in their sale. The colour is a pretty orchid kind of pink, and the $7 piece I bought still has enough for another top in it.

Rachel

6 thoughts on “Tessuti New York Cape

  1. Your cape looks fabulous! As does your outfit matching. Can I say how much I LOVE your shoes? And a matching Renfrew to boot! Was lovely to meet you on saturday – I’m only bummed I didn’t get a better chance to chat to you! Ah well, next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

