Uncategorized

Muslining and Craft overactivity

Hi there,

You might wonder about the strange title of this post. It relates to the number of mid way through sewing projects I am currently working on.

The Cynthia Rowley yoked dress is hopefully going to be ready tomorrow for our weekend away. I am making it out at of a coral colored cotton sateen.

The Colette Peony dress has been muslined and the bodice is half made. I have had quite a bit of trouble with this one. Initially making it too big then dropping a size and doing a full bust adjustment, I have had to move the darts which seemed oddly to far towards the middle.

The vintage Simplicity dress muslin is coming along nicely though I have to let out the waist a bit. I have a very pretty piece of Liberty fabric that it might get made out of.

My Colette blouse needs work. The top is a little firm, and I think I’ll need to go up a size and grade down at the waist. I have a gorgeous black voile from Tessuti which will be lovely.

My Colette Ginger skirt is already cut out and ready to sew I expect it to come together quickly. I usually wear something handmade to work every day and this skirt will fit the bill nicely.

Why I have 5 half-finished projects I don’t know, but I need you all to keep me honest. My plan is to finish at least three of these before starting anymore projects. This is going to be hard since I have so many other projects I am keen to start.

I was very lucky to win Gabrielle’s giveaway. I won Simplicity 2922, which I can’t wait to make. That may become project number 6.

Rachel

3 thoughts on “Muslining and Craft overactivity

  1. You’ve been busy. I don’t have the headspace for half finished projects, I need to keep going otherwise I’m afraid I’ll never get around to finishing them (plus the fact that I’m OCD and get completely engrossed in a project).

    dxx

  2. They all look like beautiful projects! I have the Simplicity 2922 pattern too, and have been meaning to make it for ages, so look forward to seeing your version.

  3. good to see you back on the blogging wagon!
    5 UFO’s, good going šŸ™‚

    Which view of the simplicity 2922 are you going to make? I’ve had that one in my stash for a while – another one to get around to oneday………………

Leave a Reply

