sewing · wardrobe

6 months of making

Have you noticed I have been away from the blog for 6 months? There’s been loads of sewing in this time.

The last six months I have focused on sewing clothes and I feel like my skills have come a long way. I have made plenty of skirts, though that’s no challenge as I alway found them pretty straightforward. I have made a few tops which I have been very proud of. You see due to my ample bosom I always thought that they would be too hard. I also have made a couple of dresses, a Wiksten Tova dress and most recently a Colette Rooibos dress.

I really enjoyed making the Rooibos dress and am loving the finished garment. It took two muslin to get the bodice right but then the final version only took a couple of hours and fits beautifully. I cut a size 10 and had to add a little ease under the arms and at the top of the shoulders, but graded it to a 8 half way down the midriff piece. The fabric is a navy Japanese slubbed cotton from Boqinana.

I adore this dress and see more in the future, perhaps I’d make another summer version with a different neckline, and a winter version to wear with tights and boots would be cute too.

 

 

At the moment I working on a Colette Peony dress with a full bust adjustment and another vintage pattern, alas my sewing machine is being repaired so they might be a while away.

Rachel

3 thoughts on “6 months of making

Leave a Reply

