sewing · wardrobe

Mostly a flop- kwik sew 2498

A good few weeks ago I made Kwik Sew 2498 View C.  There’s lots of favourable reviews on Pattern review, including some from larger busted lasses like myself, so I thought it would be a success, instead it was a big flop for me.  I was about to make a muslin but then I thought I’d just make it out of my good fabric, lovely Anna Maria Horner Voile Baby Bouquet in Dusk.  So there’s a lesson in this for me, I should make muslin’s for tops unless I’ve made the pattern before.

For some reason the top seam keeps gaping outwards significantly, it didn’t seem to matter how much I pressed it.   The pattern has really a lot of ease for a camisole.  Though I made  the correct size for my measurements I had to take it in at the side seams significantly, and in the end to make it wearable I put some inverted pleats in the top at the middle which you can kind of see from the photo’s.  My apologies for the terrible photos.  It’s kind of a flop but I wore it today, the top isn’t perfect but hopefully the pretty fabric makes up for it.

Rachel

2 thoughts on “Mostly a flop- kwik sew 2498

  1. Oh hey there Rachel, loving your sewing & styling. Yes, I am a HUGE fan of Jodie from Allana C, are you the mother of the name sakes?? We have 4 giraffes & many more of Jodie’s soft toys in our home, she’s so clever. Love Posie

Leave a Reply

