patterns · sewing · wardrobe

Yet another skirt or two

A couple of weeks ago I made a couple of skirts I had got a new fabric order from Quilthome.  I already love my New Look 6594 skirt and wear it all the time with a navy t-shirt.  I thought another was in order.  So I whipped up this little number with a couple of pieces of Amy Butler from the Lotus range.

I say ” whipped up” because this skirt comes together SO QUICKLY.  I think I had it made in 40 minutes.  The only changes I made were to use an invisible zip and to hand sew the yoke down on the inside which I think looks far more polished (my hand sewing is pretty neat).

In the same sewing session I also made another very modified Barcelona skirt out of this Asiany floral fabric which is really lovely.

I find the Barcelona skirt quite flattering on me and a good day-to-day skirt, I usually make it less A-Line, and in this case I didn’t line it as the fabric was so thick, I just bound the waistband.  I didn’t take a photo because honestly if I waited to take a photo of it before blogging I’ll never blog it as they’ve already been waiting a couple of weeks.  I’ve worn both quite a few times already!

Rachel

One thought on “Yet another skirt or two

Leave a Reply

