Me

It’s done

I finished my denim skirt yesterday and am thrilled with how it turned out.  

I used McCall’s  M5430 which claims to be a one hour skirt, though I’d have to say it took me a bit more than an hour.  Overall I’d say it was a good pattern especially for a beginner, like myself.  My only complaint was that the pattern instructs you to hem it prior to putting the waistband on, and then once I’d tried it on I had to hem it again.  I used denim purchased from a fabric shop in Marrickville and top-stitched the pockets and waistband with red thread.  The pictures just don’t do it justice, hmm and perhaps I should have ironed it.

Rachel

6 thoughts on “It’s done

  1. The skirt looks really lovely on you, Rachel. Was this your first attempt on sewing a skirt for yourself? Turned out great! I really like the red stitches.

  2. Love the red stitch detail Rachel. I’ve been meaning to check out the fabric shops at Marrickville, any good? Just bought some fabric from Campsie to make some summer clothes for me and the girls.

Leave a Reply

